Departments

Scroll down for more information

Hoxsie Elementary Schools is organized into departments that supplement academic programs and student services. Each department is composed of dedicated experts in their fields who are committed to serving our students and their families.

To find out more about the departments, contact them, or access resources provided by these teams, click the tabs below to find out more. 

Art Teachers

Kim Markarian kim.markarian@warwickschools.org

Ashley Potter ashley.potter@warwickschools.org

The Hoxsie Elementary School Art department creates rich and engaging experiences and opportunities for all learners. A successful art program not only fosters many areas of growth in myriad ways, it helps students see and understand visual arts in different ways. Students begin to develop an aesthetic sense and understanding of their own design and see the potential in their own skills. They forge a sense of visual literacy that promotes individuality and critical thinking skills.

At Hoxsie Elementary, we want our students to experience the reward and joy of art that is both technically and spiritually expressive.

Library Media Specialist
Patricia Shawcross Buffington patricia.buffington@warwickschools.org

The mission of the library media program is to ensure that all students, staff, and school community become literate, life-long learners and effective, ethical users of ideas and information.  This mission is accomplished:

  • by providing intellectual and physical access to materials in all formats.
  • by providing instruction to foster competence and stimulate interest in reading, viewing, and using information and ideas.
  • by working with other educators to design learning strategies which will meet the needs of individual students.

Hoxsie Elementary School has an outstanding selection of fiction and non-fiction books at every reading level. Students are encouraged to check out books on a weekly basis. Borrowed books should be returned on time and in good condition. Any damaged books can be returned to the library media specialist for repair. However it is the responsibility of the parent to reimburse the school for any books that are damaged beyond repair or lost.

Library Media Center Website

Warwick Public Library Website

Music Teacher
Tony Grelle tony.grelle@warwickschools.org

Instrumental Teacher, Music Gr. 3
Glenn Shaffer glenn.shaffer@warwickschools.org

Music education is a vital part of Hoxsie Elementary’s curriculum. Young learners show innumerable benefits from the exposure to music and the concepts of music making and music theory. Music education programs help young learners scholastic development in myriad ways as students not only take inspiration from the music but see lessons from other classes – math, science, english, social studies – echoed in song. They develop appreciation for human potential in the musicians they hear and seek to find and realize their own musical gifts.

Intensive Resource
Kathi Clarkin kathleen.clarkin@warwickschools.org
Kathy Fagan kathleen.fagan@warwickschools.org

Primary Special Ed. 
Amy Moore amy.moore@warwickschools.org

Primary Special Ed. Assistant
Angela Egan angela.egan@warwickschools.org
Mary Ellen Zebro maryellen.zebro@warwickschools.org

Intermediate Special Ed.
Margaret Alexander margaret.alexander@warwickschools.org

Intermediate Special Ed. Assistant
Paula Bennett paula.bennett@warwickschools.org
Kerry Thibault kerry.thibault@warwickschools.org 

Speech/Language Therapist
Natalie Potvin natalie.potvin@warwickschools.org

Occupational Therapist
Wendy Perry wendy.perry@warwickschools.org

Federal and State Regulations that require the district to provide a free and appropriate public education in the least restrictive environment for students with disabilities govern the Warwick Public School System. The Special Education Department has in place a referral and evaluation process that addresses each child who might be in need of Special Education services. When a determination is made that a child qualifies for Special Education Services, there are a range of services and programs to meet the unique needs of each child.

School Nurse
Deirdre McCaffrey deirdre.mccaffrey@warwickschools.org

Psychologist
Sheri-Ann Walsh  sheri-ann.walsh@warwickschools.org

Social Worker
Teresa Thornton teresa.thornton@warwickschools.org